a quick hello

The restaurant table is reserved. The champagne sparkling wine is chilled. The glasses are set out, and so are the flowers, and all I have left to do is hair and make-up and, you know, get dressed. So, in good shape, then! It’s the barrister’s ball tonight, and much like last year, we are having friends over before the ball begins, only this time it’s for dessert instead of appetizers. And it’s about twice as warm as it was last year. It’s been an exciting little week here: Temperatures climbed above the ’60s (the ’60s! In Iowa! In February!). Billy and I tried a great new (to us) restaurant. I sold a blouse and got a new dress out of it.

And I got into graduate school.

Grad school in London, would you believe, (and pip pip cheerio to that!), so tonight’s champagnefest feels doubly appropriate. One of my friends told me that she couldn’t wait to see what dessert I dreamed up to celebrate my admissions decision. I think I picked a good one. I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow, but here’s a hint: according to legend, it was invented at a brothel to give a literal “pick-me-up” to exhausted clients.

Pick-me-up.

Ponder that.

Oh, and this:

See you tomorrow!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love a good cliff-hanger!

    Reply

  2. Posted by allison on February 28, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Congratulations Natalie!! Just back from vacation and delighted to hear your wonderful news. You will really enjoy London. Much love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

