quick key lime bliss

Remember last week, when I told you about our crazy-delicious, season-defying tequila-lime chicken and green onion slaw dinner? (Seriously. Make it. I am craving an encore already.) Well, I was only half-joking when I told you about the menu I’ve planned around this dish for when our deck is no longer a great, big mountain of snow. Ten days later, a key lime pie is auditioned . . . well, I swear it’s coincidence. Truthfully, it’s less related to Mexican longing than to a certain subplot of Dexter, Season Three, which practically stars  “the best key lime pie in all of Florida.” So when I finally found a bag of these tiny, tight green orbs at HyVee two nights ago, I knew we were making dessert. That night.





It’s ridiculously easy to make, but more important: it’s even easier to eat.

Ridiculously Easy Key Lime Pie

(An amalgamation of several sources, including Emeril and America’s Test Kitchen)

For the crust

  • 1 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 4 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup sugar, depending on your sweet tooth

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a bowl, combine the ingredients in a bowl. Press the mixture firmly into a 9-inch pie pan and bake 15 to 20 minutes, until browned and fragrant. Set aside to cool.

For the filling

  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed key lime juice (about 15 limes)
  • 2 tsp grated lime zest
  • 1 14-oz can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 4 egg yolks

Lower the oven t0 350 degrees. In a bowl, beat the yolks until they thicken and turn light yellow. Stir in the condensed milk, then the lime juice and zest. Pour the filling into the pie crust and bake for around 12 minutes. You want the center to be set, but still jiggly. Refrigerate for several hours.

For the whipped cream (optional)

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 heaping tbsp powdered sugar

Combine cream and sugar in a bowl. Using an electric mixer, whip the mixture until it holds soft peaks. Start low, so you don’t splash yourself while it’s still liquid. Distribute around the entire pie.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Al on March 5, 2010 at 1:38 am

    Note: This is not ridiculously easy if your typical cooking consists of playing videogames while you wait for the microwave to ding.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jaime on March 6, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Ciao bella! This is Jaime (Libowitz), I recently cancelled my facebook account but I thought I’d drop by your blog and see what you’ve been brewing lately — and, since your zeal for baked goods seems to be indiscriminate (hehe), I wanted to let you know that I have some really fabulous recipes (savory and sweet) from the Italian culinary program I’ve been engaged in for the past couple months. Once I return to Italy I’ll be sure to collect even more — but let me know if you want to see some of them, I’d be more than happy to share! Baci

    Reply

    • Posted by iowasthinking on March 7, 2010 at 4:33 pm

      Ciao Jaime! My taste is indeed indiscriminate, and I would love, LOVE any recipes you feel like typing out. Especially one for super-authentic biscotti? Grazie mille.

      Reply

  3. Posted by ordinarilyjustme on March 9, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    ooh, this looks really good. I think I will have to try it. Thanks for the photos. I always like to see what the finished product will look like.

    Reply

  4. Posted by DownwardDolphin on March 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    thanks for posting this recipe! I made it yesterday, about three hours before we ate it. I don’t think that was enough time. It tasted much better today! I used regular limes, I have no idea where to get key limes here in the northeast. Not the same, key limes have that distinctive tang, but still pretty good. I’ve always used graham cracker crusts from the supermarket, it never occurred to me to make my own. Much, much tastier! I am never going back. Thanks!

    Reply

    • Posted by iowasthinking on March 22, 2010 at 10:01 am

      Key limes are a tricky find– I’ve only seen them once or twice here. Thanks for sharing your success! So glad it worked for you.

      Reply

  5. […] do it, if you’ve gotta, you know, make the sacrifice, might I suggestinsist that you make this one, because it’s fabulous, but key lime pie is frankly a rather particular flavor and all other […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

