the deluxe life

Ladies and gentlemen: I have found my bakery.

Most of you are probably thinking, What took her so long?, because my fondness for [obsession with?] pastries, cupcakes, and all manner of baked goods has been well documented on this site. Honestly, the collection of sweets on this blog pales, absolutely pales, in comparison with my daily life and daily intake. The fact that it took me seven months since move-in to visit Deluxe is even more embarrassing for the fact that Willa –IC native, NYC resident, and fellow sweets aficionado — told me about it in September.

Luckily I get to make up for lost time now. Deluxe Cakes and Pastries makes its home in a historical neighborhood about five minutes from downtown on a street lined with big Victorian houses. I almost flew right by the building the first time because the demure windowed storefront looks so much like part of the neighborhood. It’s been around since 2003, and remains a neighborhood joint, if not entirely an undiscovered secret.

They have delicious, strong brewed coffee, and finer pastries like millefeuilles and fruit tartlets along with sky-high frosted cupcakes and half-dollar size drop cookies. Cakes, pies, scones, petit-fours and made-to-order anything. Yesterday I had a thick, densely flavored mocha chocolate chip cookie and a red velvet cupcake (too much too-sweet frosting, but no complaints otherwise). Today I noshed on a chocolate cupcake with vanilla frosting: perfectly moist cake, but sadly the frost job was again overly saccharine. But like I care.

When I arrived at Deluxe on Wednesday, a mom and little boy were enjoying afternoon treats and reading from the crate of children’s books stashed near the window seats. And during the half hour I stayed there, two more under-tens with mother in tow swung in for after school cookies. Obviously Deluxe and its proud “butter, butter, and more butter” philosophy have won over the most important judges. I just hope they don’t mind if I start camping out there a couple times a week.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Martha on February 19, 2010 at 5:57 am

    This is adorable! Makes me want to be there right this minute!

    Reply

  2. Posted by ksenia on February 19, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    i wish this entry had a “like” button

    Reply

Leave a Reply

