jobless but cameraful (photo essay)

I was informed a couple hours ago that I didn’t get the aforementioned (and posted about) Dream Job.

Luckily, actions taken earlier in the day (not to guard against affirmations of unemployment and ensuing mopeyness, because of course that hadn’t happened when I ran morning errands — but taken just the same) have insulated me against feeling totally worthless, because Wow do we have an awesome kitchen. We did before but we really do now. Thank you, Target and Loews.

So instead of mopeyness, I’m just going to pack your eyes with photos of the kitchen in midafternoon light. The very same kitchen in which I will soon make a g’normous pot of macaroni and cheese . . . and settle in to look at job sites. Again.

entering the kitchen

inside the kitchen

new shelving unit!

onions

(living with a californian: sees candy and sprinkles mix)

dishes

goodies

placemat/table/floor

recent corks

basil plant

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Daniel on September 15, 2009 at 8:33 am

    It’s beautiful,. Love it, specially the little plant in the window (and the measuring cups.garlic press, etc are very workmanlike. Corks are great.\
    love, papa

    Reply

  2. Posted by Martha on September 15, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Great shots, Natalie! The kitchen looks beautiful, and I love the final touches, the signs and the rack and the ruffled curtain. You’ve done a fantastic job!

    Mom

    Reply

  3. Posted by Melissa on September 20, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Hey- I want to come eat in your cute kitchen! You could make me a pie! I also bought tomatoes to do like the pic your mom sent, they still are waiting to be dried out. I just haven’t made the time! Oh well. I know another job will cross your path, something you’ll enjoy and be good at. Maybe whoever that museum hired will be awful and s/o will say, i told you we should have hired that Natalie person and they will call! (it could happen!)
    Love you-Aunt Melissa

    Great Martini recipe:

    Stockholm Martini:
    1 1/2 oz Mandarin Absolut vodka
    3/4 oz sweet and sour mix
    shake it up w/ some ice, pour into glass
    add 2 oz sparkling or Champagne
    roll in a dollop of Chambord liqueur which will sink
    Drink up- like drinking sunshine!

    Reply

    • Posted by iowasthinking on September 21, 2009 at 8:41 am

      Ooh, that looks completely delicious. I’m keeping it in mind for the future party to celebrate my future (currently nonexistent) new job!

      Reply

  4. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Reply

Leave a Reply

